Renee’s Happy Accident Peach Tree

Yesterday when I went down the road for a visit with my friend Renee, she offered me a slice of her luscious vegan peach cobbler. The peaches are from a tree at the end of her driveway. “I grew it from a pit, by accident,” she told me.

The fruit are ripening extra-early this year because it's been so hot.

“Twenty years ago I wanted my own peach tree,” she said. “I researched the best for this area and found the Dwarf Red Haven, which did not need pollination. After three years the tree became dangerously bent over. I made my fall cobblers and cut it down. A few years later a weed grew in the driveway that was so tough no one, not even the lawn guys, could pull it out. It was embedded in a stone wall and got more gigantic by the day. My husband Michael looked at it and said, ‘There are a thousand little peaches growing on that tree!’ The weed was: a volunteer, a baby of the Dwarf Red Haven.”

The happy accident is more than ten feet tall now, and loaded with little peaches. “You have to remove all but one or two of each cluster when they’re about half an inch in size so they don’t fall off,” Renee explains, “and then you have the most wonderful fruit. They’re extra-early this year.”

With that story, I enjoyed the cobbler even more. The recipe is right here under “Food from the Garden.”

About writedesigner

Graphic designer, writer, and gardener Ellen Shapiro is based in Irvington, New York. A frequent contributor to design blogs and magazines including Print, Imprint, Salon.com, Communication Arts, and Etapes, she writes about trends, issues and personalities in design, illustration, photography, and visual culture around the world.
This entry was posted in Food from the Garden, Private Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

